The Funny Thing About Birthdays

So I was going to make Friday my fiction day and write a short story or something so I got out my box of prompts (a GREAT gift from a Nanowrimo swap buddy) and drew one out.  It said, “It’s you MC’s birthday!  But everyone forgot.”  This reminded me of an actual real story to tell so I’ll have to do the made up one some other time.

Before I get into it though you have to know something about me, I am one of those people who loves their birthday.  I just do.  I don’t think anything special or magical is gonna happen and I don’t expect everyone to wait on me hand and foot, but when I wake up on my birthday I just get so excited and it usually carries me through the rest of the day.

The only problem is my birthday is on December 30th, so when I was in school I never got to bring cupcakes or had my friends bombard me with balloons or something.  When I was a kid I was really happy that I never had to go to school on my birthday but as I got older I kinda wished I could.  I wanted to see my friends but over break it was kinda hard because everyone had family stuff going on.

The winter of my freshman year of high school one of my friends invited me to a New Year’s Party.  Our group usually did something for Christmas or New Years so this wasn’t too unusual.  She had a huge attic that we used to make our base, probably because her parents slept on the ground floor so they couldn’t hear us up there; and the only way to get up there was a ladder.  So Colleen and I were the last to arrive and as we were climbing up I stuck my head through the floor and everyone screamed, “Surprise!” because it was not a New Year’s party after all.  It was a surprise birthday party.

The only problem was they were really out of sync so all Colleen and I heard was screaming.  I thought they were trying to scare me (not uncommon I am a very jumpy person).  So I spent the first hour or so of my surprise party not knowing it was my surprise party.

When we got together over Christmas Break we usually did some kind of White Elephant so that we didn’t all feel obligated to get every person a Christmas gift.  Since we hadn’t had a Christmas party that year we hadn’t done that.  So when my friend Ann asked, “Do you guys want to do presents?” Colleen and I looked at each other and said something along the lines of, “Oh…uh…we forgot….we’ll just sit out of the presents…yeah we didn’t know we were supposed to bring something…” And for a second I was super disappointed because my friends all had excellent taste and everyone was sure to end up with something good.  They all burst into laughter and asked why we would think we were supposed to bring gifts to our own surprise party.

“WHAT? Oh, AWESOME!” Was pretty much what went through my head.  So we went downstairs and did cake and presents and had an all around amazing time.

So do you have any surprise party, or birthday stories in general?  Leave a comment!

I hope you leave here laughing.

Leenie

10401243_109432221473_4932789_n

This is most of the group at our graduation three and a half years later.  I don’t have a picture of the party because I never took pictures back then.  

2 thoughts on “The Funny Thing About Birthdays

  1. Yep – I have a story. I was “kidnapped” by my BFF, her boyfriend, and my boyfriend on my 16th birthday. Blindfolded, driven to the middle of nowhere, and led (carefully, I might add) down a wooden hill. I could feel a fire crackling, and see an orange glow through the blindfold. When they took if off, we were in a state park – my BFF’s dad was the park ranger – and there was a table full of food she and her parents had made. There were also marshmallows for roasting over the fire. It was really fun and sweet. I normally HATE surprise parties, but that one was nice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

