The Funny Thing About Rope Swings

I was once an annoying child who saw that my neighbor had something fun and decided that I was entitled to it.  In this case my neighbors had a rope swing that went out over a steep hill creating a 20(ish) foot drop when the swing was at it’s highest.  We got permission to use it once and then used it all the time, when the owners weren’t home.  Anyway one day my parents were watching Colleen and I on this swing and the inevitable happened.  I missed the seat and was hanging on by only my hands.  I was four or five at this point and didn’t really have the arm strength to pull myself up, or to hold on.  I tried though and my arms gave out right at the crest of the swing.

In the ensuing fall it occurred to me that I might die.  I didn’t really understand what that meant but I was pretty sure that’s what was going to happen.  Then, WHUMP! I hit the dirt about as close to the neighbor’s burn pile as I could with out landing in it.  I got the wind knocked out of me and a bloody nose.  That’s all.

My parents, who didn’t yet know the extent of my injuries were reacting very differently.  My mom had jumped up and was racing over in a panic.  My dad, who had seen me go up above our roof hanging on the swing, then come crashing back down followed by a huge cloud of dust; was doubled over laughing. It’s a problem he has where when people seem to be terribly hurt he cracks up. This wasn’t a one time thing, it happens quite a bit.

I was a bit sore the next day but other than that I was completely fine.

I hope you leave here laughing.

Leenie

Leave a Reply

