The Funny Thing About Cleveland

Many many years ago My Aunt and Uncle decided to take my cousins; Patrick, Thomas, and Noel (I don’t remember if Rose was born yet but if she was she was going too) to Disneyland.  But they decided to keep it a surprise.  They told the kids that they were going to visit Noodle and Grampian and us but that was it.

On the drive down my Aunt said to my Uncle something along the lines of, “Don’t you think that part of the fun of a trip is the anticipation?”  He agreed so she said to her kids, “Would you guys rather go to Cleveland or to Disneyland?”

I assume that Cleveland was the first terrible place she could think of, there wasn’t any significance to it.  Well all three of the kids shouted, “Cleveland!” When asked why they, correctly, pointed out that they’d been to Disneyland before but never to Cleveland.

“Well, sorry but we’re going to Disneyland.” Was my Aunt’s replay, and it’s probably the only time that anyone ever had to say that sentence.

I hope you leave here laughing.

Leenie

Leave a Reply

